How washing my towel taught me a lesson

I learnt a valuable lesson yesterday that I’d like to share with you today.

My bathroom towel had been due for a wash for at least two weeks and I had been putting it off for days. And so when I woke up Monday morning after a hectic Sunday’s activity doing volunteer work for Make Music Lagos, I decided it was time to quit procrastinating and get the towel washed.

The towel still looked good to go for another 4 weeks (because it’s colored and doesn’t show signs of dirt), but my body just can’t deal with a filthy towel, so I got no choice really. I got into full swing and washed the towel. I even scrubbed the bathroom floor, walls as well as the laundry. The chores gulped over two hours of my Monday morning, but I felt more refreshed, organized and fulfilled. By the time I was done, I was so pumped for more work and dived straight into the day’s tasks without delay. My adrenaline level was high!

Long story short, the towel was dry by afternoon and ready for use.

Fast-forward to the next day, it started raining at the early hours and that continued well into noon, or maybe beyond. I was at my desk in my home office when it dawned on me. If I had postponed washing the towel till the next day, the weather would have made it nearly impossible and that task would have been pushed yet again till another day, oblivious of what the next day might present.

I know washing a towel might not have dire consequences, but this is interestingly how we live out the days of our lives, at least I will admit I am so guilty of this. We procrastinate for so long and get very little or nothing achieved at the end of each day. Before you know it, a week turns into a month, a month turns into a year and so it goes.

If you find yourself in this category like me, make a conscious effort to do things as at when due to avoid procrastination. Sometimes we can’t just help it, after all we’re only human and not programmed bots. One thing I have learnt in my pursuit of daily productivity is to create a list of ‘things to do’, not just mentally but physically on a notepad. As convenient as an electronic notepad is, writing with pen and paper still has that special effect on the brain, but go with whatever works for you. This method will help you tremendously and you will see yourself piling up achievements in no time, no matter how little.

On a final note, if you have a filthy towel in your laundry box or on the hanger, please get it washed after reading this paragraph :).

Leave a Reply

